Hungry?

As I was going to grab my morning breakfast bar, I realized that the collection of granola bars and cheese crackers had run to my non-favorites, so I decided to throw the box in my car, to bring to the office. Maybe a volunteer team would need them.

On my morning drive to the office, I have figured out that Starbucks is so easy to get to, it would seem almost foolish not to go. Historically, I have not made it a practice of going to Starbucks frequently, but since figuring out that it is on the way to work, it doesn’t feel like too terribly much of a splurge. Until this morning.

You may know that at Starbucks they sell bottles of water for 2 bucks to help women in Africa, and other bleeding heart sales items. But this morning there was a man standing out by the door, mumbling at the customers. At first I put on my big city glazed eyes gaze, and went through the door, to stand in the line of those of us who have entirely too much money to spend.

As I stood there, I realized that I could not do what I had grown so used to, from my survival attitude of living in Kenya, the ability to assume a tunnel vision and blur past those in need, so I thought about what I could do. I wasn’t about to give him any money (who even carries money anymore?), but what else could I offer? Especially what could I offer to help him, not to hinder him? Thanks to God’s planning, I had a box of snack foods in my car, ready and waiting.

“Are you hungry?”

“Yes ma’am. I am.”

“Do you want a granola bar or cheese crackers?”

“Granola bar.”

I quickly grabbed two out of my box of random healthy snacks, and handed them to him.

            “Thank you.”

And he continued to stand there, a little less invisible.

Leave a Reply

