Fix, or Solve

I can’t fix this. Rather, it cannot be fixed. It is not to be fixed. It is like a math problem. You cannot fix a math problem. It is too complex and there is nothing broken in it. The math problems do not get fixed. They get solved.

And so will this. It is not something that can be glued together, it is not something that will succumb to duct tape and sheer force of will. That would be fixing it.

This needs to be solved.

But how?

Where should I look for a solution? How will I know it when I see it? How surprising will it be? What will I learn about myself when I actually discover the source of the solution?

Ok, yeah. The source of the solution is God, of course. God is the source of all things good and right. God is the source of everything, including the ways that God uses things that need a solution to stretch us and help us see that we need more than just ourselves.

So. For the solution. Where to look. What usually has the solution? Yeah… the Bible. But it is hard to make sense of it sometimes, and direct answers are not usually terribly obvious. I mean, come on; Jesus talked in parables throughout his whole ministry. You think it is gonna be more clear now to a bunch of southerners how salt can lose its flavor? It’s salt.

So. This solution. Where do I look?

In the self help books? In the leadership guides? In new age spirituality? In the Desert Fathers sayings? In my tea leaves? In the stars? In the entrails? (eww, gross) In my guts? In my core? In my heart? In the hearts of others?

What if the answer to the mystery is the mystery of everyone?

We find the mysterious confusing, and frightening, and something to be solved.

What if it is a mystery, because it should be a mystery.

People are a mystery. That is the way to find the answer, the solution.

In discovering the mystery.

The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and all science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead.                     —Albert Einstein

Leave a comment