December Solstice

Last night was the Solstice. It passed while I was asleep, so I didn’t do anything special to celebrate. I think my foot can tell it’s Winter. The first day of Winter, and the high is going to be near 70 degrees. Something about that just doesn’t seem quite right. It must be colder in this house than outside, but it will warm up eventually… I’m baking cookies.

So, this winter, I am not really looking forward to major surgery, but I suppose I am looking forward to healing from it.

Winter

The silence of freshly fallen snow
and delicate snowflakes caught in eyelashes.
Brightly lit Christmas trees
and other decorations fill the night
with light and wonder.
Trees
stark in the cold
without the color of the leaves
that grace their frame in other seasons.
The dash of evergreen,
and the promise of fullness
in the berries of the holly.
Fresh baked cookies
and cakes
and puddings
and other delectable delights
fill the house with wonderful sweet memories.

Making New Memories

This is what I get to do, in my first year of marriage. Together we build our own traditions and a new shared memory of the holiday season. The tree is up, there are decorations in the house, and it’s beginning to smell a lot like Christmas.

Though we’ve spent a good deal of other holidays together, this is the first actual Christmas that we will be together. We still have to work, but after we come back from worship, we will be able to spend it all together.

And, my favorite part, we get to worship together on Christmas Eve. This may be what I am most excited about. I love this time, the expectation that comes from being together on this day that anticipates a new day. The anticipation and the very nearness of coming time fill me with joy. We do get to celebrate that it is the time now, and the time is coming soon.

Oh, how we wait, and prepare in the time of the waiting. We cook and clean and decorate and wear different clothes and have times when we gather to share time together.

Christmas feels that it is already here, but not quite yet. Christ has come, but not yet.

Leave a Reply

