Driving Me…

“That really drives me crazy!”

If you really think about it, the way that phrase is said actually gives it the intended meaning. One can be driven crazy in frustration, in passion, in humor, in exasperation, in silliness, in fanaticism, in all manner of ways, actually.

I actually went through two years of college where I was called equally by my real name, and by the nickname Krazy. Apparently I was just that much fun… or something. Especially at camp, when my group leader was also a friend from school, it helped to perpetuate my nickname.

I’d never had one before, besides that I am called by a shortened version of my middle name. I was quite proud of it, actually. Especially at camp, where I was in charge of guiding kids to a deeper understanding of Christ, along with having fun. With middle schoolers, it’s a lot easier to get them to relax if they can be a bit silly, too often they are not allowed to be, and camp should be where they can do that kind of discovery, without the pressures of their usual stress of parents and school and chores and the like.

It drives me crazy when parents think their kids should be smaller versions of adults. Kids need to run and jump and play and be able to make a few mistakes without being attacked. It’s only by the mistakes we make that we actually learn what is good.

It drives me crazy when people don’t trust each other. When the assumption is that the other person has nothing of value to add to the conversation, and anything they say is dismissed out of hand. It’s not really a way to grow, and it not at all a way to get closer.

It drives me crazy…

I like it better when I am the good crazy, when I am the silly, passionate, funny kind of crazy. It’s been a while since I have been that way in public. I’ve had the pressure of learning how to be a leader and so I haven’t been able to be my usual crazy self.

Sometimes being so crazy with stuff is exhausting.

1 thought on “Driving Me…”

  1. Adults should be larger versions of children. Become like a little child to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Loving, trusting, and also constantly exploring and curious and seeking to learn.

Leave a Reply

