Life Beyond the Trauma and Drama

This is something that one of the women in my church said a few weeks ago. It was a good enough truism to write down, because I wanted to reference it later. I agree with her, I am exasperated with the traumas and dramas going on around me, and I want to find life beyond the trauma and drama.

The later one of that, it’s a promise. There is Life beyond all the mess we have to live with in the here and now. There is life beyond the hospitals and surgeries and casts and chronic pain, and there I’m just talking about my own journey for the past couple of months. I have plenty of other trauma which I carry with me. That other trauma is the trauma of the members of my family and my churches.

I willingly carry this, it is my call to walk alongside those who are hurting and in pain. Sometimes I don’t especially enjoy the pain of it, but I rejoice when someone is open enough with me to share their burdens with me. As Christians, we are called to bear each other’s burdens. I don’t think that we are supposed to throw more burdens on someone because they are Christian, instead, as Christians, we take up and walk along with those who’s burdens are heavy, and help to relieve the pain.

Have you ever tried to carry something heavy with someone? Sometimes it can almost feel heavier, because you and the other person are not cooperating and not walking in a way that distributes the weight. Sometimes the burden can even feel so heavy that you’d rather carry it alone. But then sometimes, when you carry a burden, the weight feels less than half of the total, because of the way that you are both working in tandem and partnership to carry the whole.

And then the Drama. Drama, drama, drama. Besides on a stage, I really don’t like drama. Drama between people is something altogether different than the drama that is displayed for an audience. Actually, drama, interpersonal drama, can also be displayed for an audience. Drama comes about when people decide the display is more important than the relationship. There may be other times and types. But this is the one with which I am most familiar. This kind of drama tears away at the very foundations of a relationship, and tends to put people in a compromised position. One does not usually take center stage in order to lift someone up.

This kind of drama breaks my heart and tears me to pieces. Even if the cutting, angry meanness is not directed at me, I still empathize so strongly that it hurts me physically. This kind of drama is too often in the church, where it especially should not be. We are called to lift each other up, to stand with one another and bear each other’s burdens and rejoice when others rejoice.

Bear one another’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.
—Galatians 6:2 NRSV

Ask God to bless everyone who mistreats you. Ask him to bless them and not to curse them. When others are happy, be happy with them, and when they are sad, be sad. Be friendly with everyone. Don’t be proud and feel that you are smarter than others. Make friends with ordinary people.                              —Romans 12:14-16 CEV

Leave a Reply

