Gulp

Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the water. –Isaiah 55:1a

I am parched, I am dry, I am barren. I am thirsty.

We get thirsty a lot. I don’t believe the eight cups of water a day, and I don’t really believe the one ounce of water for every two pounds either. Neither are really based on hard science anyway. I do drink water when I am thirsty, or… I try to drink water when I am thirsty, but sometimes… I just forget. I don’t know how it happens, I get too busy or something. I will be working hard, and my throat starts to have that tingle, and my mouth runs dry. And then perhaps it is because I am focused on what I am doing at the time, but it can be hours before I remember that I needed something to drink. I really am thirsty every single time. I really do want to have something to drink. It doesn’t have to be fancy, it doesn’t have to have bubbles in it, it doesn’t even need any ice. I just need some water to drink. And I don’t.

It’s really funny, because I habitually carry a water bottle around with me, but when I am in my house, it doesn’t always end up where I am. And so I forget to drink when the possible most important thing I could do then is take a break and take a drink to quench my thirst.

I think I treat my devotional thirst the same way.

I now have a smart phone, and I have a bible on it. I have a bible that is the size of my hand, and I can carry it with me if I choose without having too much to carry. I have a dozen or so bibles and devotional books that could help guide me to study and work and quench my spiritual thirst. But, in the same way with the water, I know I need to do it, and I think about it, but I get too busy elsewhere. I get lost in whatever I am currently doing, and I forget to focus on my thirst. Literal or metaphorical.

I need reminders. I need a cue to let me know that I am to be attending to my thirsts. There is no reason for me to go thirsty. I have a tap in my house, I have scripture that I can study and I want to be able to read and drink and be filled. I want to be filled to overflowing, perhaps not with water, but with the word of God. And then, as I continue to thirst, perhaps I will not ignore my thirsts, but I will take a drink, deep refreshing gulps, from the fountain.

Leave a Reply

