Soul Dreams

Dreams are illustrations from the book your soul is writing about you. –Marsha Norman

I dream in color. Bright, vivid, deep color. Actions are fluid, ideas quickly shift from one point to another that seem to have no connection whatsoever. A necklace is given, taken away, and shouldn’t go to the next place. A tornado knocks on my door looking for me. A friend comes and her hair is the best I’ve ever seen, and then she disappears out behind the chancel area of the church.

I’ve always had dreams that took my by surprise. You’d think, they are part of me, that they wouldn’t be so surprising. But it seems that the older I get, the more creative my dreams can be when I rest the rest of me.

And then what about the other dreams, the ones that may not happen when I am unconscious, but the dreams I have for the future? Those dreams are vibrant as well. They are not quite as specific, sometimes. But they are dreams, hopes, goals even.

My soul rests. My soul waits. My soul writes a vision and a dream for the future. Things happen in my dreams that sometimes I don’t wish had happened. Sadness and sorrow fill me sometimes when I awake. But still, there is a point in the dream that lets me know the story is not over. The story may have come to the end of the chapter, but the book continues.

Hope continues.

And my soul continues to have faith in that hope. My soul journeys on, and the road continues to open to new possibilities. And now the dream goes on.

Leave a Reply

