Five Years

I created this blog five years ago as a experiment. During the month of July 2009 I posted every day for a month. They were not always profound posts. They were not always long posts. But they were a way for me to maintain a rhythm of writing.

I have maintained a slightly more fluid rhythm over the past five years. I’ve had post heavy months, and I’ve had months where I only posted once or twice. And yet the writing has remained. I’ve kept at it. The writing muscles have not atrophied. I think I’ve gotten better at writing and expressing myself. I would certainly hope so, at least. I broke three hundred posts a while back, I continue to write with partners and friends, and I press myself to go deeper with my writing.

For the next month, I am going to try it again, writing every single day over the month of July. Last time I did it I didn’t have Internet in the home where I was staying. Now I’ve got a smart phone that has a WordPress platform app directly on the phone. The tech can change, but I have been working on changing myself as well. It is a challenge that I look forward to.

Stick around and I might even share some of my freaky slipstream dystopian dreams.

2 thoughts on “Five Years”

  1. I’ve blogged for eight years at my first official blog, and for not nearly that long at my crafty/home blog, but I too feel the need to write and share. Sometimes it’s a rant, sometimes it’s just a photograph. I know what I’m feeling and thinking when it comes out of my fingertips through the keyboard.

    1. I forgot to add that I had a LiveJournal back in college, but I don’t really consider my writing there as part of the same body of work. Wow. Might have to write about that as well.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

